Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

IBRAHIM MOUSTAFA talks JAMES BOND: SOLSTICE, on sale in NOVEMBER!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IBRAHIM MOUSTAFA talks JAMES BOND: SOLSTICE, on sale in NOVEMBER!

IBRAHIM MOUSTAFA talks JAMES BOND: SOLSTICE, on sale in NOVEMBER from Dynamite!

BYRON BREWER: Before we discuss your new BOND one-shot from Dynamite, Ibrahim, I understand one of your other books, JAEGER, was nominated for a Will Eisner Award for Best Webcomic. That must have been very exciting.

IBRAHIM MOUSTAFA: It was, thanks! It's an idea that I had sitting in a drawer for a few years, and I'd blind-submitted it to a few publishers before I'd had a foothold in the industry, so I was very happy that it was well-received when it finally found a home.

BB: As an artist, I see you are a lover of James Bond. For awhile, you were doing pinups based on the BOND films each month. Tell readers about your fascination/love for 007.

IBRAHIM MOUSTAFA: I am, indeed! There are a lot of things about the character that appeal to the very base level of my male psyche, I think, haha. The cars, the gadgets, the suits. Bond is the template for so much of what has come since by way of the action hero genre. As I grew older I discovered a love of the deeper levels to the stories; the espionage, the intrigue, the danger, etc. It's a fascination that is forever growing and evolving as my awareness of the world does.

The Bond films (and the books they're based on) are such a diverse grouping of stories over several decades, and they made for the perfect exercise in graphic design and single-image storytelling. I started with one for fun and then it quickly became all 24 films, haha.

BB: How did you become involved in the BOND: SOLSTICE one-shot?