Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

The ERD/John Carter/Tarzan/Dejah/WOM MEGATHREAD!

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • I hope so too! Fingers crossed about the recent news--I want to see this continue!! (And the Mars books too!)

    Comment


    • I think this could potentially be really bad news.

      The art is far superior to the Marvel stuff. Marvel have strong scripts but the art looks like dodgy 1990's fill in artist issues. Not good.

      The liklihood of a partnership between ERB and Dynamite is unlikely. There have been several offical reports and interviews that officially state that Marvel are the comic strip adator of choice. That is unlikely to change, especially as they don't print 'pornographic' material.

      The restriction in the UK is inevitable as a settlement. With North American printing remaining unharmed. Being from the UK myself, I find this news disasterous. I want to bring my expenditure down, but not like this. I am very cynical and would hazard a guess that Marvel have brought their attention to several key areas of attack. This is very sad indeed where fans are not given a choice on which material to follow.

      Dynamite haven't really helped themselves with the Risque nude covers either. Yes it is nothing that isn't in the books and if we're being honest with ourselves - any real adaptation of the novels should have Dejah Thoris with a lot more on display than Dynamite have ever shown. In principle I think making the divide between the all ages and mature books more obvious may have been a road to go down to further separate them from the Marvel books - but I think this is to late to be making this distinction at this point in the books lives.

      I wait and see what happens - but it won't be good.

      Comment


      • You may be right...

        You may be right taking to the account that Marvel did have the "official" movie tie in to the books. I do like Dynamite's interpretation much better.

        The ERB heirs claimed the comics publishers "pushed" ERB inc. to allow them to make a comic but didn't give permission? The ERB folks? I am sure over the years their lawyers wouldn't have allowed themselves to be pushed and would have made it quite clear they wouldn't allow publication if they could.

        "ERB Inc. is suing over alleged trademark infringement and unfair competition..." My guess is they are hoping they cash in on the movie and a resurgence of popularity of the character and make more money. Making sure they continue to control who and what gets a share.

        Reading the article I laughed out loud at the following:

        Presumably to bolster its claim of "irreparable injury," ERB Inc. takes specific issue with some of the covers and interior art for "Warlord of Mars: Dejah Thoris," insisting they "border on (and in some cases are) pornographic": "On some covers -- covers which defendants refer to as "Risque Nude" exclusive covers -- Dejah Thoris appears topless." (my bolding).
        Have the hiers even read the books? Everyone on the entire planet is nude! LOL. I mean the most beautiful woman on Mars with no clothes on...the horror...a young man might get excited! I am sure ERB didn't even think of the titillation he was producing in 1912 when HE wrote the story.

        Look I have nothing against the folks at ERB wanting to protect what is rightfully theirs but I think they are narrow in the scope of what the comic is doing for them. If they want bigger money let independent producers make free advertising for them. New people will buy the material that is not out of copy write...and provide them with more money.

        I hope it doesn't put an end to the comic.

        Comment


        • I could be missing something, but how many people here live in the UK? The complaint has nothing to do with US publishing as far as I can tell.

          Comment


          • Originally posted by transversal View Post
            I could be missing something, but how many people here live in the UK? The complaint has nothing to do with US publishing as far as I can tell.
            Yes it does. ERB is claiming it owns the trademark to the titles "Warlord of Mars" and "Lord of the Jungle". And Dynamite distributing in the UK may give them legal leverage to call for a cease-and-desist which may affect US publication as well.

            Well, it's too bad, but unfortunately with the the success that Dynamite has had with the franchise and the movie coming out, it was bound to happen. Don't know if ERB can pull it off in court, but if they do I plan to boycott any "officlal" Marvel ERB titles (which won't be too hard, since they kinda suck anyway).
            Last edited by positronic; 02-25-2012, 01:40 PM.
            DE pull list: Will Eisner's The Spirit: The Corpse Makers, ERB's The Greatest Adventure, Green Hornet '66 Meets The Spirit, PSP: Herokillers, KISS/Vampirella, Mighty Mouse

            Comment


            • Originally posted by positronic View Post
              Don't know if ERB can pull it off in court, but if they do I plan to boycott any "officlal" Marvel ERB titles (which won't be too hard, since they kinda suck anyway).
              Yes, they do suck. I had hopes for The Gods of Mars until I saw the online previews, what's up with Marvel and the unbearable crummy artwork?!!

              Comment


              • Preview of Lord of the Jungle #2

                http://www.comicbookresources.com/?p...eview&id=11578

                Looks good!

                Comment


                • being nude is entirely different than being treated like a piece of meat.

                  the characters in ERB's series were treated with dignity and respect!

                  Comment


                  • After reading the issue, I notice Dynamite is introducing a number of changes to ERB's original narrative. Some minor, some perhaps not so minor. For example, DE's William Cecil Clayton (here just called Cecil Clayton) is John Clayton's nephew rather than his cousin (which seems a bit odd, considering the closeness in age of the two), and appears to be a much more heroic character than he is in Burroughs' original novel. Also, in DE's version, he is saved by Tarzan from an attacking crocodile, whereas in the novel it's an attacking lion.

                    How do other hardcore Tarzan fans feel about these differences?
                    DE pull list: Will Eisner's The Spirit: The Corpse Makers, ERB's The Greatest Adventure, Green Hornet '66 Meets The Spirit, PSP: Herokillers, KISS/Vampirella, Mighty Mouse

                    Comment


                    • Originally posted by transversal View Post
                      I could be missing something, but how many people here live in the UK?
                      I do, for a start-and I don't want to lose these books. UK sales, incidentally, make up an estimated 10-15% of all sales for DC and marvel, and I suspect the figures for Dynamite are similar.

                      Comment


                      • Originally posted by Ralok View Post
                        being nude is entirely different than being treated like a piece of meat.

                        the characters in ERB's series were treated with dignity and respect!
                        In what way are they not treated with dignity and respect in these titles?

                        Comment


                        • Originally posted by Kloot View Post
                          I think this could potentially be really bad news.

                          The art is far superior to the Marvel stuff. Marvel have strong scripts but the art looks like dodgy 1990's fill in artist issues. Not good.

                          The liklihood of a partnership between ERB and Dynamite is unlikely. There have been several offical reports and interviews that officially state that Marvel are the comic strip adator of choice. That is unlikely to change, especially as they don't print 'pornographic' material.
                          I don't see why partial nudity equates to pornography. That's never made any sense to me.

                          The restriction in the UK is inevitable as a settlement. With North American printing remaining unharmed. Being from the UK myself, I find this news disasterous. I want to bring my expenditure down, but not like this. I am very cynical and would hazard a guess that Marvel have brought their attention to several key areas of attack. This is very sad indeed where fans are not given a choice on which material to follow.
                          I agree. I'm also in the UK and although I've followed Red Sonja for years I only really got into Dynamite's other material when I dropped all my DC titles following their reboot in September. I've been loving these books since then, and I don't want to lose them.
                          Dynamite haven't really helped themselves with the Risque nude covers either. Yes it is nothing that isn't in the books and if we're being honest with ourselves - any real adaptation of the novels should have Dejah Thoris with a lot more on display than Dynamite have ever shown. In principle I think making the divide between the all ages and mature books more obvious may have been a road to go down to further separate them from the Marvel books - but I think this is to late to be making this distinction at this point in the books lives.

                          I wait and see what happens - but it won't be good.
                          That seems to be the one thing that's pretty much guaranteed. One way or another, the readers will lose out.

                          Comment


                          • Make Jane a Jungle Girl

                            This new Tarzan comic is one of the best I ever read. Jane is beautifully drawn. Put her in a leopard print bikini and she'll make a great Jungle Girl.
                            Comic2read

                            Comment


                            • Originally posted by Comic2read View Post
                              This new Tarzan comic is one of the best I ever read. Jane is beautifully drawn. Put her in a leopard print bikini and she'll make a great Jungle Girl.
                              Tarzan comic? What Tarzan comic? I see no comic with the name 'Tarzan' on the cover!

                              I agree about Jane, though...

                              Comment


                              • Hmm... "Jane of the Jungle"? Bet that's a title ERB Inc. never thought to trademark, so who knows... And since Dejah Thoris appears to be the breakout star of the Warlord of Mars franchise, it might make sense. Would appeal to fans of Red Sonja, Vampirella, and Grimm Fairy Tales, I would think, as well as the sorely-missed Frank Cho's Jungle Girl. A little female pulchritude never hurt a comic book title. I never could resist a girl in a leopardskin bikini.

                                And speaking of Zenescope's Grimm Fairy Tales, they've already got their own jungle girl spinoff comic on the way -- Grimm Fairy Tales: The Jungle Book, starring a female (!) Mowgli...

                                http://www.comicbookresources.com/?p...ticle&id=36137
                                Last edited by positronic; 03-03-2012, 04:13 AM.
                                DE pull list: Will Eisner's The Spirit: The Corpse Makers, ERB's The Greatest Adventure, Green Hornet '66 Meets The Spirit, PSP: Herokillers, KISS/Vampirella, Mighty Mouse

                                Comment

                                Working...
                                X